top of page

All aboard: 'Highball Bruiser' set to release December 30

The third album from Connor Jay Liess, Highball Bruiser will be out Dec. 30 via Trapper's Attic Records. The album will be streaming everywhere and available on CD.

The 16-track album features both original and cover renditions of train and railroad songs. In addition to Liess, the album includes the musicianship of local artists Charlie Sutton, Dry Buck, Adam Straubinger, Kim Ray, Christy Rezaii, Turtle Poppers, “Mustang” Mark Stolpe, Matt Skipper and more.

1. Train 45 (feat. Adam Straubinger) (traditional)

2. 4-8-4 Blues (Connor Jay Liess)

3. Freight Train Boogie (The Delmore Brothers)

4. The Wreck of the Old 97 (feat. Dry Buck) (traditional)

5. I Heard That Lonesome Whistle (Hank Williams)

6. Hey Porter (Johnny Cash)

7. No. 9 (Tarheel Slim)

8. Rock Island Line (traditional)

9. Way Out In Idaho (feat. The Aldape Bootstompers) (traditional)

10. Train Train (feat. Christy Rezaii) (Shorty Medlocke)

11. L&N (traditional)

12. Orphan Train (feat. Kim Ray) (Utah Phillips)

13. Hobo Blues (Connor Jay Liess)

14. Wabash Cannonball (feat. Turtle Poppers) (traditional)

15. Midnight Special (traditional)

16. The Train (Connor Jay Liess)

The album is dedicated to Liess's great-grandparents, Montest Sholes and Don Sholes, a railroad engineer for Southern Pacific in the 1940s and 50s.

18 views0 comments


bottom of page